South Africa’s top journalism gift fete at 2023Vodacom Journalist of the Time form

The important-awaited public winners of the 2023 Vodacom Journalist of the Time Awards ’( VJOY), were blazoned at a form in Johannesburg after weeks of deliberation by the recognized judging panel.

With a depth of excellence in investigative journalism entries this time, the judges named three common winners in this order to partake the R100 000 prize as well as the 2023 Vodacom Journalist of the Year title. News24’s Jeff Wicks won for his body of work in pursuit of justice for Babita Deokaran, the civil- menial whoosh- cracker
severely boggled, participating the palm with GroundUp’s Daniel Steyn and Marecia Damons for their disquisition into culprits Thabo Bester and Nandipha Magudumana.

The title of the 2023 Young Journalist of the Time Award was given to Daily Maverick’s Tamsin Metelerkamp. This award emphasises the VJOY’s commitment to incubating the career of a dynamic youthful rising star intelligencer in South Africa, who has worked for three times or lower. Metelerkamp wins an each- charges paid trip to the United Kingdom to contend a course at the prestigious Thomson Foundation.

“ The Vodacom Journalist of the Year awards formerly again showcased the inconceivable gift and fidelity of South African intelligencers, pressing their capability to inform, engage and entertain. In several orders, the judges had a tough time deciding on winners, ” said judging panel convenor, Mapi Mahlangu.

The 2023 VJOY judging panel of Jermaine Craig, Ryland Fisher, Arthur Goldstuck, Patricia McCracken, Professor Gilbert Motsaathebe, Neo Ntsoma, Collin Nxumalo, Jovial Rantao, Elna Rossouw, Advocate Robin Sewlal and Obed Zilwa, had further than 1 300 entries across 12 orders to contend with.

The theme for the 2023 Awards was Authentic Information and mongrel Content. Takalani Netshitenzhe, Director of External Affairs for Vodacom South Africa, said a sense of on- the- job excellence was demanded now further than ever. “ The well- being of any republic depends on exacting quality being maintained in journalism. numerous of the winning entries reflected stories about the speechless, with the patron or pen unthinking of the consequences for themselves. This is what Vodacom seeks to award-accurate, honest, ethical and timely reporting and jotting to help our citizens make well- informed opinions. ”

The VJOY Lifetime Achiever Award for 2023 was given posthumously to Carte Blanche news anchor Derek Watts. The award was accepted on his behalf by his son Kirsty Watts.

The remaining public order winners, who each won R10 000, are

Opinion Viewer News ’ Zongile Nhlapo for ‘ Motherhood is n’t defined by mynon-verbal son calling me mama ’.
The judges said Nhlapo’s deep love for her four- time-old son with autism came alive in this beautiful and sincere column. “ In a sensitive and loving manner, she takes the anthology into her private space as she writes of the strong bond between them as they developed the special communication they partake. ”

Features Khwezi FM’s Saziso Dlamini for an severance special.
The judges said “ We were especially impressed by how Dlamini’s hour-long special eloquently treated the issue of severance and made the story reverberate with listeners. ”

Lifestyle Newzroom Afrika’s Zukiswa Cetywayo and platoon for Tembisa Drug Rehabilitation Movement.
Judges said “ Our public winning entry is a life story that has a positive impact on society, telling the story of rehabilitated medicine addict who assists others with their recovery. ”

Sport AmaBhungane’s Njabulo Ngidi for an probe piece on the FIFA 2010 Soccer World Cup
The judges reflected “ There’s no mistrustfulness South Africa was a meritorious host of Africa’s first FIFA World Cup, but the governance of the event and whether we bought our way to come host, were two questions which Ngidi brought us near to the verity with, in this piece of stunning probe sports reporting. ”

Financial and Economics OFM’s Olebogeng Motse for ‘ The construction cabal is it metamorphosis or crime? ’
The judges said “ Stories involving crime, in which the perpetrators were willing to go to any lengths to achieve their ends, bear courage and enterprise from intelligencers. Among the most dangerous stories to cover were those involving construction crews across the country, and Motse ventured into this dangerous terrain. ”

Politics Carte Blanche’s Harri Vithi for an exposé of Joburg councillors ’ treason of the megacity’s residers.
Judges said “ We had to meditate deeply to decide the winner from among the order’s numerous slice- edge political immolations with their eventuality for dire consequences for the country. Vithi’s piece, which at a gadarene regard could be incorrect for frivolous, carried significant weight and was skilfully presented, with a fresh approach. ”

Sustainability The Outlier’s Media Hack platoon of Laura Grant and platoon for “ A Perfect Storm. ”
The judges said “ Grant’s entry emphasised South Africa’s need to be more set to repel environmental challenges and skilfully exercised in- depth exploration with data- journalism ways to enhance an eloquent interrogation of the fate of Durban’s disastrous April 2022 cataracts. ”

Live reporting/ breaking news eNCA’s Ronald Masinda and Nceba Ntlanganiso for “ Dutywa hostage drama ”.
The judges said “ The public winning entry had all the rudiments that judges look for in this order, which rewards intelligencers who are first and correct with breaking news. The public winners set up themselves suddenly caught up in a hostage situation but replied with professional commitment, bravely staying to report the drama to its end. ”

Photography Rapport’s Elizabeth Sejake for “ Malema’ We’ll end cargo slipping’ ”
The judges said “ Sejake’s entry, an image of EFF leader Julius Malema addressing sympathizers at a political rally, stood out from the other cessions for its witching
moment, correct composition and great environment that formed an iconic image. ”

Innovation in journalism common winners Eyewitness News ’ Kgomotso Modise for the Meyiwa trial, and MyBroadband’s Johannes Steyn for mobile network content point.

Source Link

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below and subscribe to our newsletter